Camp. So much to discover!

Long hot summer days, a dip in the pool, star-filled nights, camp fires, roasted marshmallows, pillow fights, cabin devotions, emblem work, seeing old friends, making new ones. Expanding horizons and creating memories.

The variety of camps is amazing, but they all provide a gorgeous setting, a caring environment and activities that enrich life.

That's what camp is about. For more than 100 years, The Salvation Army has recognized the value of camping. It has witnessed the difference it can make in people's lives. For an underprivileged child who's only known city concrete, the blare of car horns and whirl of mass transit, it opens a whole new world. For a single mother it represents a cherished respite and bonding time with her children. For older adults camp symbolizes independence, a trip down memory lane and desperately needed companionship.

A Variety of Activities

There are camps where kids learn the basics of playing a horn and camps where advanced musicians refine their craft. Teen camps feature organized sports, interesting programs and classes addressing life issues to help them navigate through challenging years. Children who participate in The Salvation Army's character-building ministries in their own hometowns come to camp to learn new skills and increase their knowledge while having fun earning emblems.

A few camps are highly specialized and deal with unique and sensitive situations. For instance, a camp called PAL in Missouri helps kids referred by the juvenile courts to refocus their lives and get to know law enforcement officials as people who care about their community. There are many short-term camps for those who are in Salvation Army rehabilitation programs working at overcoming their addictions. In these places of quiet and beauty, they engage in honest reflection and many experience a spiritual rebirth that helps give them the strength they need to start over.

Locations Near You

There are more than 50 Salvation Army camps throughout the United States. Each one is unique to its geographical area, but they meet high standards in housing, nutrition and safety according to the Christian Camping Association or the American Camping Association. Salvation Army camps are attended by more than 100,000 people of all ages, races and socioeconomic levels each year. The camps are conducted by competent staffs of dedicated Christians who serve together throughout the summer and are committed to making the camping experience special for each individual.

As in all of its programs, The Salvation Army views camping holistically, a ministry that addresses the emotional, physical and spiritual needs of people. After camp The Salvation Army continues its care for individuals and families at the local level primarily through its corps community centers.

Camp Contacts in the Midwest

Camp Address/Phone/Web Contacts
Echo Grove Camp Route #2, 1101 Camp Road
Leonard, MI 48367
(248) 628 3108

website
Camp Director
  Mark McClenaghan
Mark_McClenaghan@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Administrator
  Lt. Colonel Theresa Turner
Theresa_Turner@usc.salvationarmy.org
Assistant Camp Administrator
Major Susan Anderson
Susan_Anderson@usc.salvationarmy.org

Eagle Crest Camp 823 Columbia Rd.
Washburn, IL 61570
(309) 248 7121

website
Camp Director
  Gary Dobney
Gary_Dobney@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Administrator
  Captain Jeremy Stouder
Jeremy_Stouder@usc.salvationarmy.org

Hidden Falls Camp 208 Hidden Falls Camp Rd
Bedford, IN 47421
(812) 279 2495

website
Director of Camping Ministry
  Shawn Collingsworth
Shawn_Collingsworth@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Aaron Ortman
Aaron_Ortman@usc.salvationarmy.org

Three Trails Camp 16200 E Highway 40
Kansas City, MO 64136
(816) 373 4153

website
Camp Director
  Mike Dixon
Michael_Dixon@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Amos Shiels
Amos_Shiels@usc.salvationarmy.org

Camp Wonderland 9241 Camp Lake Rd
Camp Lake, WI 53109
(262) 889 4305

website
Camp Director
  John Welch
John_Welch@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Administrator
  Major Greg Thompson
Greg_Thompson@usc.salvationarmy.org

Camp Mihaska 1466 HWY N
Bourbon, MO 65441
(573) 732 5239

website
Camp Administrator
  Major Patty Richardson
Patty_Richardson@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Director
Terry Mahurin
Terry_Mahurin@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Matthew O'Neil
Matthew_ONeil@usc.salvationarmy.org

Northwoods Camp 60402 Elbow Lake Rd
Finlayson, MN 55735
(320) 233 0711

website
Camp Administrator
  Major Jeffery Richardson
Jeffery_Richardson@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Director
  Jim Cederstrom
Jim_Cederstrom@usc.salvationarmy.org
Assistant Camp Director
Captain Michael Cho
Michael_Cho@usc.salvationarmy.org​

Gene Eppley Camp 915 Allied Rd
Omaha, NE 68123
(402) 291 1912

website
Camp Administrator
  Captain Scott A. Shelbourn
Scott_Shelbourn@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Director
  Peter Hoskin
Peter_Hoskin@usc.salvationarmy.org

Black Hills Camp Route 1
Big Bend
Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 342 0451
Camp Administrator
  Major Elizabeth Beardsley
Elizabeth_Beardsley@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Scott A. Shelbourn
Scott_Schelbourn@USC.salvationarmy.org

Little Pine Island Camp 6889 Pine Island Rd
Comstock Park, MI 49321
(616) 784 1404

website
Camp Director
  Curtis Britcher
Curtis_Britcher@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Major Jason Poff
Jason_Poff@usc.salvationarmy.org

Army Lake Camp N8725 Army Lake Rd East
Troy, WI 53120
(262) 642 6400

website
Camp Director
  Damon Lodge
Damon_Lodge@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Martin Thies
Martin_Thies@usc.salvationarmy.org