Never Miss a Chance to Do the Most Good

Please enter your name, email and zip code below to sign up!

Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid zip code
VolunteerVolunteer in this community
Ways we helpWays we help in this community
DonateDonate to this community
How you can helpHow you can help in this community
Hear moreHear more from this community

Never Miss a Chance to Do the Most Good

Please enter your name, email and zip code below to sign up!

Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid zip code
Our Leadership

Our Leadership

Great Lakes Division Leadership Team

Lt. Colonel Steven J. Merritt

Divisional Commander
(Regional Chief Executive Officer)

Lt. Colonel Christine Merritt

Divisional Leader for Officer Development, 
Camp Administrator - Echo Grove Camp & Retreat Center

Major Charlotte M. Hall

General Secretary and Metro Detroit Area Commander
(Regional Chief Operations Officer)

Major Andrew B. Shiels

Associate General Secretary 

Major Melissa M. Shiels

Divisional Secretary for Program

Captain Chrissy Cooper

Divisional Youth and Candidates' Secretary

Captain Jonathan Cooper

Divisional Youth Secretary

Major Randall Hellstrom

Divisional Secretary for Mid Michigan Area Command

Major Timothy P. Meyer

Divisional Secretary for Grand Valley Area Command


John Hale

Executive Director of Development

Gariann Brock

Executive Director of Social Services

Derek Kumpula

Executive Director of Finance
(Regional Chief Financial Officer)

Jonathan Hicks

Corporate & Foundation Relations Director

Terri Butler

Senior Director of Philanthropy

Christina Holman

Director of Integrated Marketing & Mail

Metro Detroit Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of a wide spectrum of hard-working men and women who share in the vision to transform and restore lives in the city of Detroit.

Thomas Callan
Advisory Board Chair

UHY Advisors

Ewa Matuszewski
Advisory Board First Chair

MedNetOne Health Solutions

Janet Lawson
Public Relations & Development
Committee Chair

The Shepherd Group

Kurt E. Tech, M.D.
Immediate Past Chair
Corewell Health 

Clenetta Frazier

Rainbow Rehabilitation Centers, Inc

George A. Clark, Jr.
Finance Committee Chair

PNC Wealth Management

David M. Thoms
Property & Facilities Committee Chair
Life Member

Varnum, LLP

Daniel F. Ponder
Programs and Services Committee Chair
Adult Rehabilitation Center Advisory Council Chair


John (Jack) Ray
Life Member
Planned Giving
Committee Chair

John J. Latella
Nominating & Board Cultivation
Committee Chair

Legacy Fantasy Sports

Robert N. Brown
Programs & Services
Vice Chair

Univ. of Detroit Mercy
Law School

John Below
Bodman PLC

Samantha Bourque
National Food Group

Derek Brown

Quorum Commercial
Detroit Conner Creek
Advisory Council Chair

Kerry Buffington
Partner & Owner, Kapstone Employment Services

Burton W. Carlson, Jr.
Life Member


Gina Carrier
Fifth Third Bank

Jay Coslow
Royal Oak Advisory Council
Client Director

AT&T Business Services

Jim Cunningham

Pontiac Advisory Council
Monarch Investments

Angela Cusmano
Dahring / Cusmano Investment Professionals

Teresa DeBastiani

Bank of America

Ed Deeb
Michigan Youth
Appreciation Foundation

Paolo Franzese

Franzese USA

Geoffrey Gallinger

Butzel Long

Courtney Gilliam

Superior Industries

Ted Galeski

Downriver Advisory Council

Ray Gunn

CEO Wingspan Group

Mel Haggood
Emeritus Member

Nivar Property Management & Investments

Jan Huang

Merrill Lynch

Envoy Bob Idzior
Southeast Michigan
Adult Rehabilitation Center

Cody Johnson
Detroit Echelon Chapter Chair

Merrill Lynch / Bank of America

Barbara Jean Johnson

Tireman Conference & Banquet Center

Anil Kapoor

National Echelon Leadership Council Chair 
Merrill Lynch / Bank of America

Emily Kazmierczak

Metro Detroit Women's Auxiliary

W. Bruce Knight

Knight & Firth, P.C.

Jonathan Latella

GM Financial

Ronald Marcinelli

Comerica Bank

Gary Marowske

Flame Heating, Cooling, Plumbing, & Electrical

Herman Moore

Team 84
Tackle Life Foundation

Dick Purtan

Hall of Fame Broadcaster

Dr. Heidi Ramos, D.O.
Henry Ford Wyandotte and Henry Ford Brownstown

HBWS Radiology Group

Steven H. Riga

Morgan Stanley

Timothy Ross

Ross Mortgage Corporation

Thomas F. Rost

R.G. & G.R. Harris Funeral Homes

Maria Salinas

Congress of Communities

Robert Stocki

Nicole Felix

Meridian Health

Jeff Sangster

Harbor Light Advisory Council Chair
Kotz Sangster

David G. Strachan
Emeritus Member

Retired, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles General Detroit Area

Jean Stachura

Plymouth Advisory Council

Richard J. Strowger
Life Member

Judge Edward M. Thomas
American Settlement Centers

Tarence Wheeler

The Wheeler Group

Jimm White

Farmington Hills Advisory Council
White Financial, LLC

Crystal Williams

Crystal Vision Communications, LLC

Scott Wolffis

Commercial Alliance

Nicole M. Wotlinski

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Robert Zocco

HighNoon Promotions & Apparel

In Loving Memory
Jack Aronson

Advisory Board Member 2009-2021