Volunteer in this Community
Ways we help in this Community
Donate to this Community
How you can help in this community
Hear More from this Community

Never Miss a Chance to Do the Most Good

Please enter your name, email and zip code below to sign up!

Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid zip code
Our Leadership

Our Leadership

Leadership Team

Lt. Colonel John E. Turner

Divisional Commander
(Regional Chief Executive Officer)

Lt. Colonel Theresa Turner

Director of Women's Ministries/Officer Development Secretary

Major Timothy Meyer

General Secretary and Metro Detroit Area Commander
(Regional Chief Operating Officer)

Major Jim McDowell

Divisional Secretary for Business (Regional Chief Financial Officer)

Major Judith Tekautz

Divisional Secretary for Program

Major Lori Meyer

Spiritual Life Development Secretary and Pastoral Care Officer

Major Valerie McDowell

Women's Ministries Secretary

Captain Jonathan Cooper

Divisional Youth Secretary

Captain Chrissy Cooper

Divisional Youth and Candidates' Secretary

Major Louise Blessing

Community Care/VAVS Ministries

Captain Karl Blessing

Divisional Correctional Services and Men's Ministries

Captain Lennard A. Cossey

Business Officer in Training

Major Mark Brown

Assistant Disaster Services Director

John Hale

Executive Director of Development

Elizabeth Moon Carter

Director of Social Services

Sharon Tatom Garcia

Director of Communications

Russell Dobney

Finance Director

Christina Gallop

Corporate & Foundation Relations Director

Terri Butler

Senior Director of Philanthropy

Christina Holman

Director of Integrated Marketing & Mail

Advisory Board

The Eastern Michigan Advisory Board consists of a wide spectrum of hard-working men and women who share in the vision to transform and restore lives in the city of Detroit.

Gary Marowske
Board Chair

Flame Heating, Cooling, Plumbing, & Electrical

Teresa DeBastiani
First Vice Chair

Bank of America

Angela Cusmano
Second Vice Chair

Dahring / Cusmano Investment Professionals

John J. Latella
Immediate Past Chair

Latella, Inc.

Thomas Callan

Finance Committee Chair
UHY Advisors

Clenetta Frazier


David M. Thoms

Property & Facilities Committee Chair
Varnum, LLP

Janet Lawson

Public Relations & Development Committee Chair
The Shepherd Group

Daniel F. Ponder

Program and Services Committee Chair
Adult Rehabilitation Center Advisory Council Chair

Ronald Marcinelli

Nominating & Board Cultivation Committee Chair
Comerica Bank

John (Jack) Ray

Planned Giving Committee Chair

Jack Aronson

Clean Planet Foods

Honorable Alisha Bell

Wayne County Commissioner

John Below

Bodman PLC

Derek Brown

Quorum Commercial

Robert N. Brown

Programs & Services Committee, Vice Chair
Univ. of Detroit Mercy Law School

Burton W. Carlson, Jr.

Board Member

George A. Clark, Jr.

PNC Wealth Management

David Crawford


Jim Cunningham

Monarch Investments
Pontiac Advisory Council

Toby Dahm

Board Member

Ed Deeb

Michigan Youth Appreciation Foundation

Robert B. Fair, Jr.

Board Member

Joseph Ferstle

University of Michigan Board Fellow

Mary M. Fowlie

Compliance Results Associates, PLCC

Paolo Franzese

Franzese USA

Peter H. Franklin

Public Relations & Development Committee, Vice Chair

Geoffrey Gallinger

Butzel Long

Ted Galeski

Downriver Advisory Council

Mel Haggood

Nivar Property Management & Investments

Barbara Jean Johnson

Tireman Conference & Banquet Center

Anil Kapoor

Echelon Chair
Bank of America

Emily Kazmierczak

Metro Detroit Women's Auxiliary

W. Bruce Knight

Knight & Firth, P.C.

Sunita Lala

The Walt Disney Company

Jonathan Latella

GM Financial

Major Larry Manzella

Southeast Michigan
Adult Rehabilitaion Center

Dick Purtan

Hall of Fame Broadcaster

Percy Richardson

Great Lakes Benefit Group

Steven H. Riga

Morgan Stanley

Thomas F. Rost

R.G. & G.R. Harris Funeral Homes

Maria Salinas

Congress of Communities

Jeff Sangster

Harbor Light Advisory Council Chair
Kotz Sangster

David G. Strachan

Retired, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles General Detroit Area

Jean Stachura

Plymouth Advisory Council

Richard J. Strowger

Board Member

Kurt E. Tech

Beaumont Health

Judge Edward M. Thomas

American Settlement Centers

Sandra Kirtley Vanover

Retired, Plante Moran Trust

Jim Vella

Ford Motor Company Fund

Tarence Wheeler

The Wheeler Group

Jimm White

Farmington Hills Advisory Council
White Financial, LLC

Scott Wolffis

Fifth Third Bank

Robert Zocco

HighNoon Promotions & Apparel

Frank Sopata

Royal Oak Corps Advisory Council