Volunteer in this Community
Ways we help in this Community
Donate to this Community
How you can help in this community
Hear More from this Community
Our Leadership Image

Our Leadership

Leadership Team

Lt. Colonel John E. Turner

Divisional Commander

Lt. Colonel Theresa Turner

Divisional Director of Women's Ministries

Major Russ Sjogren

General Secretary & Metro Detroit Area Commander

Major Jim McDowell

Divisional Secretary for Business

Major Jan Sjogren

Divisional Secretary for Program

Major Valerie McDowell

Women's Ministries Secretary

Captain Jonathon Cooper

Divisional Youth Secretary

Captain Christina Cooper

Divisional Youth and Candidates' Secretary

John Hale

Executive Director of Development

Christina Gallop

Corporate & Foundation Relations Director

Mary Zaleski

Director of Communications

Terri Butler

Director of Planned Giving

Christina Holman

Director of Integrated Marketing & Mail

Elizabeth Moon Carter

Director of Social Services

Russell Dobney

Finance Director

Advisory Board

The Eastern Michigan advisory board consists of a wide spectrum of hard-working men and women who share in the vision to transform and restore lives in the city of Detroit.

Gary Marowske
Board Chair

Flame Heating, Cooling, Plumbing, & Electrical

Teresa DeBastiani
First Vice Chair

Bank of America

Angela Cusmano
Second Vice Chair

Dahring / Cusmano Investment Professionals

John J. Latella
Immediate Past Chair

McClure Pickles

Dr. Kurt E. Tech

Beaumont Health System

David M. Thoms

Property & Facilities Committee Chair
Warner, Norcross & Judd, LLP

Daniel F. Ponder

Public Relations & Development Committee Chair
CEO, Franco Public Relations Group

Toby Dahm

Programs & Services Committee Chair
Hitachi Business Finance

Ronald Marcinelli

Nominating & Board Cultivation Committee Chair

John (Jack) Ray

Planned Giving Committee Chair

Jack Aronson

President - Clean Planet Foods

Dr. Donald Austin

Donald C. Austin, M.D., P.C.

Honorable Alisha Bell

Wayne County Commissioner

John Below

Kotz Sangster Wysocki P.C.

Derek Brown

Quorum Commercial

Robert N. Brown

Programs & Services Committee, Vice Chair
Univ. of Detroit Mercy Law School

Burton W. Carlson, Jr.

Board Member

Thomas Callan

UHY Advisors

George A. Clark, Jr.

PNC Wealth Management

Jim Coslow

Royal Oak Advisory Council

Jim Cunningham

Monarch Investments
Pontiac Advisory Council

Ed Deeb

Michigan Youth Appreciation Foundation

Robert B. Fair, Jr.

Board Member

Wendy Fichter

American World Trade Chamber of Commerce
Dearborn Heights Advisory Council

Rollo G. A. Fisher

Board Member

Mary M. Fowlie

Compliance Results Associates, PLCC

Paolo Franzese

Co-Founder & CEO, Franzese USA

Peter H. Franklin

Public Relations & Development Committee, Vice Chair

Clenetta Frazier


Geoffrey Gallinger

Butzel Long

Ted Galeski

Downriver Advisory Council

Mel Haggood

Nivar Property Management & Investments

Barbara Jean Johnson

Tireman Conference & Banquet Center

Anil Kapoor

Echelon Chair
Bank of America

W. Bruce Knight

Knight & Firth, P.C.

Sunita Lala

Fox Networks Group

Jonathon Latella

GM Financial

Janet Lawson

Ford Fund & Ford Volunteer Corps

Keith Mayer

Board Member

Major Larry Manzella

Southeast Michigan
Adult Rehabilitaion Center

Tom O'Brien

News/Talk 760 WJR

Dick Purtan

Hall of Fame Broadcaster

Percy Richardson

Great Lakes Benefit Group

Steven H. Riga

Morgan Stanley

Thomas F. Rost

R.G. & G.R. Harris Funeral Homes

Dr. Sharon Schafer

Metro Detroit Women's Auxiliary

Maria Salinas

Congress of Communities

Jeff Sangster

Harbor Light Advisory Council Chair
Kotz Sangster

Errol Service

Detroit Conner Creek Advisory Council Chair
E.C.S. Partnership - McDonald's

David G. Strachan

Retired, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles General Detroit Area

Jean Stachura

Plymouth Advisory Council

Richard J. Strowger

Board Member

Judge Edward M. Thomas

American Settlement Centers

Alexandrea Thrubis

Endeavor Detroit

Sandra Kirtley Vanover

Retired, Plante Moran Trust

Tarence Wheeler

The Wheeler Group

Jimm White

Farmington Hills Advisory Council
White Financial, LLC

Scott Wolffis

Huntington National Bank

Robert Zocco

BLE of Michigan