Employee or church member?
Visit salarmycentral.org

Camp is For Everyone

During summer break, we offer day and overnight camp opportunities throughout the Midwest that introduce children, families, and senior citizens to new activities and help them form lasting friendships. Each camp is unique, but the caring staff and Christian message remains the heart of our ministry.

For over 100 years, The Salvation Army has opened its arms to children living in urban areas who have never swam in a lake or seen a sky filled with stars. We expose them to a different way of life. They have a chance to enjoy themselves without environmental or peer pressure. Camp is a place where children can be themselves—and thrive!

Single parents and their children are invited to attend, too. What a great way to relax and make memories together. The change in routine nourishes the heart, mind, and soul of the adults, while the children have fun playing outdoors. The summer camp experience promotes bonding and a healthier family relationship.

Many senior citizens enjoy the independence of attending our camps and spending time in nature. From arts and crafts to worship services, they enjoy the increased social interaction and are eager to participate. They often reminisce about childhood camp experiences.

Different Types of Camps

Our summer camps are designed with a specific age or interest in mind. For example, The Salvation Army is known throughout the world for its music camps, where musicians of all abilities learn to play and excel. We also have teen camps featuring organized sports and programs designed to help young adults navigate the challenging years ahead. Our younger campers, who participate in character-building ministries in their hometown, are invited to attend camp to learn new skills while earning emblems.

Other camps are highly specialized and deal with unique and sensitive situations. For instance, a camp called PAL in Missouri helps kids referred by the juvenile courts to refocus their lives and get to know law enforcement officials as people who care about their community. There are many short-term camps for those who are in Salvation Army rehabilitation programs working at overcoming their addictions. In these places of quiet and beauty, they engage in honest reflection and many experience a spiritual rebirth that helps give them the strength they need to start over.

Locations Near You

We view the camping experience as a ministry that addresses the emotional, physical, and spiritual needs of the people we serve. There are more than 50 Salvation Army camps throughout the United States. Each one meets high standards in housing, nutrition, and safety according to the Christian Camping Association or the American Camping Association. Salvation Army camps are attended by more than 100,000 people of all ages, races, and socioeconomic levels each year.


Camp Contacts in the Midwest

Camp Address/Phone/Web Contacts
Echo Grove Camp Route #2, 1101 Camp Road
Leonard, MI 48367
(248) 628 3108

website
Camp Director
  Matt Coakley
matt.coakley@usc.salvationarmy.org
Program Director
  Shayna Stubblefield
shayna.stubblefield@usc.salvationarmy.org

Eagle Crest Camp 823 Columbia Rd.
Washburn, IL 61570
(309) 248 7121

website
Camp Director
  Jay Curley
jay.curley@usc.salvationarmy.org
Program Director
  Mark Andrews
mark.andrews@usc.salvationarmy.org

Hidden Falls Camp 208 Hidden Falls Camp Rd
Bedford, IN 47421
(812) 279 2495

website
Camp Director
  Dan Bell
dan.bell@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Tony Bowers
tony.bowers@usc.salvationarmy.org

Three Trails Camp 16200 E Highway 40
Kansas City, MO 64136
(816) 373 4153

website
Camp Director
  Mike Dixon
Michael_Dixon@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Lt. Jake Turner
jake.turner@usc.salvationarmy.org

Camp Wonderland 9241 Camp Lake Rd
Camp Lake, WI 53109
(262) 889-4305, Ext. 103

website
Camp Director
  Doug Pearson
doug.pearson@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Administrator
  Colonel Patty Richardson
patty.richardson@usc.salvationarmy.org

Camp Mihaska 1466 HWY N
Bourbon, MO 65441
(573) 732 5239

website
Camp Administrator
  Joan Mahurin
Camp Director
Terry Mahurin
Terry_Mahurin@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Lt. Matthew DeGonia
matt.degonia@usc.salvationarmy.org

Northwoods Camp 60402 Elbow Lake Rd
Finlayson, MN 55735
(320) 233 0711

website
Camp Administrator
  Lt. Col. Dorene Jennings
dorene.jennings@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Director
  Jim Cederstrom
Jim_Cederstrom@usc.salvationarmy.org

Western Plains Camp 570 152nd St.
South Sioux City, NE 68776
(402) 510-1443

website
Camp Administrator
  Maj. Lee Ann Thompson
lee.ann.thompson@usc.salvationarmy.org
Camp Director
  Mark Morral
mark.morral@usc.salvationarmy.org

Black Hills Camp 23095 Thunderhead Falls Rd.
Rapid City, SD 57702
(605) 791-4045

website
Camp Administrator
  Maj. Vangie O’Neil
vangie.o'neil@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Scott A. Shelbourn
Scott_Schelbourn@USC.salvationarmy.org

Little Pine Island Camp 6889 Pine Island Rd
Comstock Park, MI 49321
(616) 784 1404

website
Camp Director
  Curtis Britcher
Curtis_Britcher@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Sarah Eddy
sarah.eddy@usc.salvationarmy.org

Army Lake Camp N8725 Army Lake Rd East
Troy, WI 53120
(262) 642 6400

website
General Manager
  Chris Karlin
chris.karlin@usc.salvationarmy.org
Divisional Youth Secretary
  Captain Stephen DeLacy
stephen.delacy@usc.salvationarmy.org